Writers' Guild Awards

** Writers’ Guild Awards take a pause for 2024 – read more **

The Writers’ Guild Awards have been celebrating writers, and writing, since they launched in 1961. They allow writers to honour their peers, and recognise our work in supporting freedom of speech.

The Awards are funded solely through sponsorship, and WGGB members take a leading role – sitting on juries to select nominees and winners, and in the organisation of the ceremony itself.

View a slideshow of the 2023 Writers’ Guild Awards, hosted by Rachel Parris at the Royal College of Physicians on 16 January 2023 (and download the programme here).

Read a history of the Writers’ Guild Awards and view a full list of winners by year in our Writers’ Guild Awards archive.

You can also keep up-to-date with Awards news in the section below.

All queries on the Writers’ Guild Awards should be emailed to awards@writersguild.org.uk

WGGB also presents two other annual awards: the Olwen Wymark Theatre Encouragement Awards and the Tinniswood audio drama award.

Photo of guests at the the 2019 ceremony: WGGB / Matt Writtle


Thank you to the sponsors of the 2023 awards


Lead Sponsor