29th Writers’ Guild Awards open for nominations 

After the cancellation of last year’s awards, due to the Covid-19 pandemic, we are delighted to open nominations for the 29th Writers’ Guild Awards.

We have 14 categories this year, spanning TV, theatre, film, audio, books, comedy and videogames.

Due to the ongoing impact of the pandemic, we are unable to accept nominations for our Musical Theatre Bookwriting category, but we look forward to welcoming it back next year.

In addition, an Outstanding Contribution to Writing Award will be presented at the ceremony, which will take place in February 2022 (further details will be announced nearer the time)..

We have extended the eligibility period from one to two years, to cover the cancelled awards last year.

All work is eligible for nomination if first broadcast, published, performed or released between 1 October 2019 and 30 September 2021.

Nominated writers must be British citizens or residents. If there are joint writers and only one writer qualifies, then they must have written over 50% of the work.

There are additional eligibility criteria for Theatre, TV, Comedy, Radio and Videogames. To check these and to make a nomination, please fill in our online nominations form (closing date 31 October 2021).

The Writers’ Guild Awards would not happen without the generous support of our sponsors. Thank you to lead sponsor ALCS, and our other sponsors BBC Studios and Script Angel.

To find out more about the Writers’ Guild Awards, which have been celebrating the cream of British writers and writing since 1961, view our special web page, which features a potted history and full archive of winners.

For queries about the awards, including the guest list, please email awards@writersguild.org.uk

For media enquiries, email sarah@writersguild.org.uk

Photo of guests at the 2020 Writers’ Guild Awards ceremony: Matt Writtle