Writers' Guild Awards

Writers’ Guild Awards shortlist

WGGB is delighted to announce the shortlist for our annual awards, to be presented on Monday 16 January 2023 at the Royal College of Physicians in London.

The ceremony will be hosted by award-winning comedian, writer, actor, improviser and presenter Rachel Parris.

WGGB General Secretary Ellie Peers said: “What a fantastic list of talented screenwriters, playwrights, authors, audio dramatists, comedy and videogames writers, whose work has kept us entertained and informed, and uplifted our spirits through the astonishing breadth and depth of their work. We look forward to celebrating and saluting them all at the Writers’ Guild Awards ceremony.”

The shortlist in 14 categories follows.

Best Long Form TV Drama

Slow Horses, Episode 1, ‘Failure’s Contagious’ by Will Smith

The Responder by Tony Schumacher

This is Going to Hurt by Adam Kay

Best Short Form TV Drama

Floodlights by Matt Greenhalgh

Four Lives by Neil McKay

Then Barbara Met Alan by Jack Thorne and Genevieve Barr

Best Long Running TV Series

Coronation Street, Episode 10642/3 by Damon Alexis-Rochefort

Doctors, Episode 5, ‘Hello?’ by Toby Walton

Doctors, Series 22, Episode 88, ‘One Point Six Percent’ by Claire Bennett

Best TV Situation Comedy

Big Boys by Jack Rooke

Dead Canny by Anna Costello

Derry Girls by Lisa McGee

Best Children’s TV Episode

Dodger, Episode 9, ‘Dosh’ by Rhys Thomas and Lucy Montgomery

The Beaker Girls, Episode 1, ‘The Ice Cream Thief’ by Emma Reeves

Jacqueline Wilson’s Little Darlings, Episode 1, ‘Destiny’ by Nathan Bryon

Best Radio Drama

End of Transmission by Anita Sullivan

Life Rights by Nicholas Meiklejohn

Waterloo Station by Katie Hims

Best Radio Comedy

Conversations From a Long Marriage by Jan Etherington

Raging Enigma by Chris Neill

Whatever Happened to Baby Jane Austen by David Quantick

Best Writing in a Video Game

Citizen Sleeper by Gareth Damian Martin

Immortality by Sam Barlow, Barry Gifford, Amelia Gray & Allan Scott

The Quarry by Will Byles, Alex Farnham & Graham Reznick

Best Screenplay

Ali & Ava by Clio Barnard

Mrs Harris Goes to Paris by Carroll Cartwright, Tony Fabian, Keith Thompson & Olivia Hetreed

Munich – The Edge of War by Ben Power

Best First Screenplay

Passing by Rebecca Hall

Pirates by Reggie Yates

The Duke by Richard Bean and Clive Coleman

Best Play

The House of Shades by Beth Steel

The P Word by Waleed Akhtar

Wonder Boy by Ross Willis

Best Play for Young Audiences

Braids by Olivia Hannah

How to Save the Planet When You’re a Young Carer and Broke by Nessah Muthy

The It by Vivienne Franzmann

Best First Novel

An Olive Grove in Ends by Moses McKenzie

Braver by Deborah Jenkins

The Return of Faraz Ali by Aamina Ahmad

Best Online Comedy

Hostage Negotiation by Kieran Murphy

Mary Shelley Writes Frankenstein by Eleanor Morton and Christian Brighty

The Room Next Door – Boris Johnson Resignation Speech by Michael Spicer


The Authors’ Licensing and Collecting Society (ALCS) is the lead sponsor of the Writers’ Guild Awards this year. Our other sponsors: BBC, ITV, Script Angel, HW Fisher, Articy and Nick Hern Books.

You can find out about the Writers’ Guild Awards, including a full archive of past winners, here.

For further information email awards@writersguild.org.uk

Photo of guests at a previous Writers’ Guild Awards ceremony: Matt Writtle