The Writers’ Guild Awards have been celebrating writers, and writing, since they launched in 1961. They allow writers to honour their peers, and recognise our work in supporting freedom of speech.

The Awards are funded solely through sponsorship, and WGGB members take a leading role – sitting on juries to select nominees and winners, and in the organisation of the ceremony itself.

View a slideshow of the 29th Writers’ Guild Awards, hosted by Sandi Toksvig OBE at the Royal College of Physicians on 14 February 2022 (and download the programme here). You can also catch a highlights video and full video of the ceremony (with closed captions and BSL interpreters) on our YouTube channel.

Read a history of the Writers’ Guild Awards and view a full list of winners by year in our Writers’ Guild Awards archive.

You can also keep up-to-date with Awards news in the section below.

All queries on the Writers’ Guild Awards should be emailed to

WGGB also presents two other annual awards: the Olwen Wymark Theatre Encouragement Awards and the Tinniswood audio drama award.

Photo of guests at the the 2019 ceremony: WGGB / Matt Writtle


Thank you to the sponsors of the 29th awards.


Lead Sponsor