James Fritz and Tim Stimpson

** You can enter the 2019 Tinniswood Award by using this application form (which contains all details of eligibility criteria) **

The Tinniswood Award was established by the Writers’ Guild of Great Britain and Society of Authors in memory of novelist, dramatist, scriptwriter and journalist Peter Tinniswood, as well as to celebrate and encourage high standards in radio drama.

The Tinniswood Award is presented each January (at the BBC Audio Drama Awards) to the best original audio drama script of the year.

We are grateful to the Authors’ Licensing and Collecting Society for their sponsorship of the £3,000 prize.

Full list of Tinniswood Award winners

2018 Borderlands by Sarah Woods

2017 Comment is Free by James Fritz (pictured above right with former WGGB Deputy Co-Chair Tim Stimpson)

2016 Fugue State by Julian Simpson

2015 Goodbye by Morwenna Banks

2014 Marathon Tales by Colin Teevan and Hannah Silva*

2012 Kafka the Musical by Murray Gold*

2011 Gerontius by Stephen Wyatt*

2009 Ivan and the Dogs by Hattie Naylor

2008 Goldfish Girl by Peter Souter

2007 Memorials to the Missing by Stephen Wyatt

2006 Not Talking by Mike Bartlett and To Be A Pilgrim by Rachel Joyce

2005 Beast by Nick Warburton

2004 Norman by Mike Stott

2003 Killing Maestros by Christopher William Hill

* these years had an extended submission period of 18 months (an extra six months) to coordinate with the BBC Audio Drama Awards.

Listen to a podcast interview with two-time Tinniswood Award winner Stephen Wyatt (recorded in May 2012).