The Olwen Wymark Theatre Encouragement Awards (set up by playwright Mark Ravenhill and David James, former Chair of the WGGB Theatre Committee) give WGGB members the opportunity to publicly thank those who have given them a positive experience in new writing over the previous year.

They are named in honour of playwright Olwen Wymark, passionate supporter of WGGB and former Chair of the WGGB Theatre Committee, who died in 2013.

Previous winners range from audio drama producers and artistic directors to a retired businessman and development consultants.

David James said: “The awards were set up to make a statement of how important encouragement is, and are based on the simple premise of saying ‘thank you’. They are a bright spot on the Writers’ Guild’s annual calendar.”

Download the full list of winners since 2005 (apart from 2021 which was an exceptional year, following the Covid pandemic, when we honoured 33 recipients).