theatre set

Olwen Wymark Awards 2024

We are celebrating 20 years of our Olwen Wymark Theatre Encouragement Awards this year and nominations are now open!

Any WGGB member may nominate anyone who has given them exceptional encouragement for theatre writing during the past year (1 May 2023 to 1 May 2024). This is an award for personal encouragement. It is not in recognition of broader, institutional contributions to the writing sector, no matter how well deserved.

Other past winners have included mentors, theatre companies, directors, subsidised theatres, literary managers, and even local business people who have funded productions.

To meet our eligibility criteria, it is important that you indicate in your nomination form what the professional role or remit of your nominee is in regard to the development of your work. In addition, what, in particular, have they contributed to your work that is above and beyond this remit – in giving support, encouragement, mentoring and indeed friendship, to you as a writer?

An awards luncheon/presentation will be held for the winners and those who nominated them in November 2024.

The awards are in honour of playwright Olwen Wymark, lifelong supporter of WGGB and a former Theatre Committee chair, who died in 2013.

To nominate, please download, print off and fill in this form and return by post (no later than 31 July 2024) to Kate Glasspool, Writers’ Guild of Great Britain, 134 Tooley Street, London SE1 2TU.

Any queries can be emailed to