WGGB Awards guests

Writers’ Guild Awards nominees

The Writers’ Guild of Great Britain is pleased to announce the shortlist for its annual awards, to be presented on Monday 18 January 2016 at RIBA, central London, by comedian, actress and writer Susan Calman.

High-profile writers from the worlds of TV, film, theatre, radio, books, poetry and videogames have been regulars at this annual, red-carpet event through its 50-year history.

The Writers’ Guild Awards, which launched in 1961, also give professional writers from across Great Britain the opportunity to honour their peers, and celebrate the importance of writing to the creative industries, both nationally and abroad.

A special award for outstanding contribution to writing is presented every year.

Our sponsors this year are: ALCS, BBC, BBC Worldwide, BBC Drama, Big Talk, Company Pictures, Curtis Brown Ltd.

The shortlist in 12 categories follows:

Best Long Form TV Drama
Banished (Jimmy McGovern), Not Safe for Work (DC Moore), Wolf Hall (Peter Straughan)

Best Short Form TV Drama
Code of a Killer (Michael Crompton), The Casual Vacancy (Sarah Phelps), The Gamechangers (James Wood)

Best Long Running TV Series
Holby City, Series 17, Episode 50 “At First I was Afraid” (Julia Gilbert), River City, Series 13, Episode 8 (Louise Ironside), Emmerdale, Episode 7188/89 (Maxine Alderton)

Best TV Situation Comedy
Veep Season Four (Armando Iannucci, Tony Roche, Simon Blackwell, Jon Brown, Kevin Cecil, Sean Gray, Ian Martin, Roger Drew, Peter Fellows, Neil Gibbons, Rob Gibbons, Callie Hersheway, Sean Love, Georgia Pritchett, David Quantick, Andy Riley, Will Smith), Catastrophe (Sharon Horgan and Rob Delaney), W1A (John Morton)

Best Children’s TV Episode
The Dumping Ground, Series 3, Episode 10 “Dragon Slayer” (Julie Dixon), Eve, Final Episode: “Control, Alter, Delete” (Emma Reeves), Katie Morag and the Worst Day Ever (Sergio Casci)

Best Radio Drama
Fragments (Laura Lomas), Orpheus & Eurydice (Linda Marshall Griffiths), Quill (Tony Jones)

Best Radio Comedy
Deborah Frances-White Rolls The Dice (Deborah Frances-White), Ed Reardon’s Week (Andrew Nickolds and Christopher Douglas), Boswell’s Lives (Jon Canter)

Best Writing in a Video Game
Everybody’s Gone to the Rapture (Dan Pinchbeck), Her Story (Sam Barlow), Sunless Sea (Alexis Kennedy, Richard Cobbett, Amal El-Mohtar, Chris Gardiner, Meg Jayanth and Emily Short)

Best Screenplay
Wild (Nick Hornby), Paddington (Paul King), Ex Machina (Alex Garland)

Best First Screenplay
’71 (Gregory Burke), The Falling (Carol Morley), X + Y (James Graham)

Best Play
Jefferson’s Garden (Timberlake Wertenbaker), Liberian Girl (Diana Nneka Atuona), Temple (Steve Waters)

Best Play for Young Audiences
Bird (Laura Lomas), Muddy Choir (Jesse Briton), Three Wise Monkeys (Mike Kenny)

Above photo of guests at the 2015 Writers’ Guild Awards: WGGB/Guy Cragoe