Empty theatre

19th Olwen Wymark Awards


WGGB is accepting nominations for its 19th annual Olwen Wymark Theatre Encouragement Awards.

Any WGGB member may nominate anyone who has given them exceptional encouragement for theatre writing during the past year (1 May 2022 to 1 May 2023). This is an award for personal encouragement. It is not in recognition of broader, institutional contributions to the writing sector, no matter how well-deserved.

Other past winners have included mentors, theatre companies, directors, subsidised theatres, literary managers, and even local business people who have funded productions.

An awards luncheon/presentation will be held for the winners and those who nominated them in December 2023.

David James, a former Chair of the WGGB Theatre Committee, who organises the event, said: “This is a wonderful award, warmly appreciated by both the winners and the nominators: the chance to say thank you, and more important now than ever, as the theatre sector faces funding cuts and unprecedented challenges.”

The awards are in honour of playwright Olwen Wymark, lifelong supporter of WGGB and a former Theatre Committee chair, who died in 2013.

To nominate, please download, print off and fill in this form and return by post (no later than 31 July 2023) to Kate Glasspool, Writers’ Guild of Great Britain, 134 Tooley Street, London SE1 2TU. Any queries can be emailed to kate@writersguild.org.uk.

Photo; Shutterstock.com