Lenny Henry

Tinniswood Award 2019 open for entries


The Tinniswood Award, named in memory of scriptwriter Peter Tinniswood, was created by WGGB and the Society of Authors to celebrate writers of original radio drama broadcast within the UK.

Nominations are now open for audio drama scripts broadcast or made available online between 1 October 2017 and 31 October 2018. Only stand-alone radio plays or first episodes of radio series or serials can be nominated. All entries should be submitted by the producer no later than 29 September 2018, using the nomination form.

The Tinniswood Award will be presented at the BBC Audio Drama Awards in January 2019 and the winner will also receive a £3,000 cash prize (sponsored by the Authors’ Licensing and Collecting Society). For further information about the 2019 Tinniswood Award, contact kate@writersguild.org.uk

Previous winners include:

2018 Borderland by Sarah Woods
2017 Comment is Free by James Fritz
2016 Fugue State by Julian Simpson
2015 Goodbye by Morwenna Banks
2014 Marathon Tales by Hannah Silva and Colin Teevan
2012 Kafka the Musical by Murray Gold
2011 Gerontius by Stephen Wyatt
2010 Ivan and the Dogs by Hattie Naylor
2009 Goldfish Girl by Peter Souter
2008 Memorials to the Missing by Stephen Wyatt
2007 Not Talking by Mike Bartlett

Photo of Lenny Henry hosting a previous BBC Audio Drama Awards ceremony: BBC