Tinniswood Award

Tinniswood Award 2020 open for entries


The Tinniswood Award, named in memory of scriptwriter Peter Tinniswood, was created by WGGB and the Society of Authors to celebrate writers of original radio drama broadcast within the UK.

Nominations are now open for audio drama scripts broadcast or made available online between 1 October 2018 and 31 October 2019. Only stand-alone radio plays or first episodes of radio series or serials can be nominated. All entries should be submitted by the producer no later than 6 October 2019, using the nomination form.

The Tinniswood Award will be presented at the BBC Audio Drama Awards in January 2020 and the winner will also receive a £3,000 cash prize (sponsored by the Authors’ Licensing and Collecting Society).

For further information about the Tinniswood Award please contact sjackson@societyofauthors.org

Previous winners include:

2019 When the Pips Stop by Oliver Emanuel

2018 Borderland by Sarah Woods

2017 Comment is Free by James Fritz

2016 Fugue State by Julian Simpson

2015 Goodbye by Morwenna Banks

2014 Marathon Tales by Hannah Silva and Colin Teevan

2012 Kafka the Musical by Murray Gold

2011 Gerontius by Stephen Wyatt

2010 Ivan and the Dogs by Hattie Naylor

2009 Goldfish Girl by Peter Souter

2008 Memorials to the Missing by Stephen Wyatt

2007 Not Talking by Mike Bartlett

Photo of  actress Tracy-Ann Oberman, who presented last year’s Tinniswood Award: BBC