Nell Leyshon and Morwenna Banks

Tinniswood Award 2016: open for entries


The Tinniswood Award, named in memory of scriptwriter Peter Tinniswood, was created by WGGB and the Society of Authors to celebrate writers of original radio drama broadcast within the UK.

Nominations are now open for audio drama scripts broadcast or made available online between 1 October 2014 and 31 October 2015. Only stand-alone radio plays or first episodes of radio series or serials can be nominated. All entries should be submitted by the producer no later than 29 September 2015, using the nomination form.

The Tinniswood Award will be presented at the BBC Audio Drama Awards in January 2016 and the winner will also receive a ¬£1,500 cash prize (sponsored by the Authors’ Licensing and Collecting Society).

Previous winners of the Tinniswood Award include Morwenna Banks, pictured above (right), receiving the award for her audio drama Goodbye in February 2015 from presenter Nell Leyshon.

Other previous winners include:

2014 Marathon Tales by Hannah Silva and Colin Teevan
2012 Kafka the Musical by Murray Gold
2011 Gerontius by Stephen Wyatt
2010 Ivan and the Dogs by Hattie Naylor
2009 Goldfish Girl by Peter Souter
2008 Memorials to the Missing by Stephen Wyatt
2007 Not Talking by Mike Bartlett

Above photo: BBC