Tinniswood Award 2016: shortlist announced

The Writers’ Guild of Great Britain and the Society of Authors are pleased to announce the shortlist for the Tinniswood Award, presented each year to the writer of the best original audio drama script.

A prize of £1,500, sponsored by the Authors’ Licensing and Collecting Society, will be presented at the BBC Audio Drama Awards on 31 January 2016.

The judges this year are Mike Bartlett, Rachel Joyce and Nell Leyshon.

The shortlist follows:

Far Side of the Moore by Sean Grundy

Produced by David Morley, Perfectly Normal, 45’, BBC Radio 4

Sean Grundy

The judges said: “This is a hugely entertaining, subtle, and superbly written script that goes beyond the usual parameters of biographical drama to speak not just about an extraordinary character but about a period of time at the BBC and in the whole country. The dialogue, characterisations and narrative choices are masterful. A true classic of radio drama.”

Sean Grundy’s first Afternoon Play for Radio 4, Cavity, received rave press reviews and his second, The Recordist, was Sony-nominated. His latest works are a 10-part adaptation of his Radio 4 Afternoon Play The Best Queue and Far Side of the Moore. He is currently working on a radio serialisation of The Andy Warhol Diaries and a biopic of the YBA BritArt movement. Sean is also developing TV projects including a series for the BBC. Read more on his website.

Read the script of Far Side of the Moore.

Listen to a preview of Far Side of the Moore.

Vampyre Man by Joseph O’Connor

Directed by Stephen Wright and Jenny Thompson, produced by Gemma McMullen, BBC Drama Belfast, 90’, BBC Radio 3

Joseph O'ConnorThe judges said: “Deft, inventive, consummately elegant, dark and light, here is a play that is both gripping and thought-provoking. With a cast of multi-layered characters, it asks questions about time, art and the bond of friendship. It will stay with us for a long time.”

Joseph O’Connor is the author of eight novels, including Cowboys and Indians (shortlisted for the Whitbread Prize), The Salesman (in development with Tiger Aspect Productions for ITV), and Star of the Sea (to be filmed by Peter Kosminski). He has also written radio diaries, film scripts and stage plays. He received the Irish PEN Award for Outstanding Contribution to Irish Literature in 2012. Read more on his website.


Read the script of Vampyre Man.

Listen to a preview of Vampyre Man.

Fugue State by Julian Simpson

Produced by Karen Rose, Sweet Talk Productions, 45’, BBC Radio 4

Julian SimpsonThe judges said: “An original and gripping thriller which brilliantly explores both the powerful effect of sound on the listener, and how radio drama creates worlds of sound.”

Julian Simpson is a well-established television director/writer whose manifold credits include Spooks, New Tricks and Hustle. Julian diversified into radio in 2007 with his drama Fragments. He has since written Bad Memories (winner of the BBC Drama Award for Best Use of Sound in 2012), and most recently Kokomo. Julian is currently developing a six-part crime drama for BBC One and he has a movie, Run, in development with Potboiler Films. Read more on his website.


Read the script of Fugue State.

Listen to a preview of Fugue State.


About the Tinniswood Award

The Tinniswood Award was established by the Society of Authors and the Writers’ Guild of Great Britain to perpetuate the memory of radio and TV scriptwriter Peter Tinniswood, as well as to celebrate and encourage high standards in radio drama. Previous winners include Stephen Wyatt, Murray Gold, Morwenna Banks and Christopher William Hill. Find out more.

Photo of Joseph O’ Connor: Gerry Sandford