Olwen Wymark Awards 2016

Olwen Wymark Awards open for entries


WGGB is accepting nominations for its 13th annual Olwen Wymark Theatre Encouragement Awards.

Any WGGB member may nominate anyone who has given them exceptional encouragement for theatre writing during the past year. This is an award for personal encouragement. It is not in recognition of broader, institutional contributions to the writing sector, no matter how well-deserved.

Last year’s winners (pictured above) included a producer, development consultant, arts critic and artistic directors.

Other past winners have included mentors, theatre companies, directors, subsidised theatres, literary managers, dramaturgs, and even local businessmen who have funded productions.

There are up to six winners each year, and an awards luncheon/presentation will be held for the winners and those who nominated them, at the Royal Court Theatre in London in November/ December 2017.

David James, a former Chair of the WGGB Theatre Committee, who organises the event, said:

“This a wonderful award, warmly appreciated by both the winners and the nominators: the chance to say ‘thank you’. It has also helped many of the winners to receive meaningful recognition from outside funders.”

The awards are in honour of playwright Olwen Wymark, lifelong supporter of WGGB and a former chair of its Theatre Committee, who died in 2013.

Please email your nomination and a paragraph on why the nominee’s support has been so meaningful to David James (david.sassafras@btinternet.com).

The deadline for nominations is 22 August 2017.

You must be a WGGB member to nominate. If you would like to join WGGB, you can do so on this website.