Meet the Writers at our AGM

At the heart of the Writers’ Guild is a group of writers, all highly experienced in their fields, with an impressive list of credits between them.

They negotiate better pay and working conditions for writers, stage events and awards, campaign and lobby, and help run the union on a day-to-day basis.

They are here to represent you, and they want to meet you.

At our AGM on 13 September 2017, which all WGGB members are invited to, we are holding a new Meet the Writers mini-panel event. This is your opportunity to ask questions about your craft, career and how the union can help. So, if you are looking for advice, or have a burning question about your professional life, this free event is a chance to ask it. A selection of our craft and regional reps – all members themselves – will be giving a short presentation on the work of their individual committees as well as giving an insight on the problems writers face and how to solve them. You can see a list of who will be coming below.

They will also be available for a chat throughout the day – about the craft area or region they represent. You can find out what they’ve been up to recently, what they’ve got coming up in the next year, and pick up tips for writing in their various genres.

WGGB is your union – so come along, get to know us better and get involved. We would love to hear your ideas for change.

The AGM takes place on Wednesday 13 September 2017 in London. Full details, including venue, timings and agenda, can be found here.

Meet the Writers will feature the following committee chairs and officers:

Books – Corinne Sweet (Money On’t Table, The Anxiety Journal)

Comedy – Dave Cohen (Horrible Histories songwriter, Not Going Out, Have I Got News For You)

Film – Andrea Gibb (Swallows and Amazons, Dear Frankie, Call the Midwife)

Radio – Nicholas McInerny (75 credits across TV, radio, film and stage, 30 radio plays including How to Have a Perfect Marriage)

Television – Emma Reeves (The Worst Witch, Eve, The Dumping Ground)

Theatre – Jenifer Toksvig (musical theatre: Terry Pratchett’s Mort. Spoken word: What They Took With Them for UNHCR and Facebook, with Cate Blanchett and friends)

Videogames – Andrew Walsh (Prince of Persia, Need for Speed, Harry Potter)

London & South East – Poppy Corbett (winner of Theatre Royal Haymarket (Masterclass) Pitch Your Play competition) and Jamie Rhodes (Dead Men’s Teeth; A Castle in England; Elämänmäki: Hill of Life)

Scotland – Alistair Rutherford (Ooglies, Haunted Hogmanay, First and Only)

South West (Wessex) – Martin Day (Doctors, Doctor Who novels)

Wales – William Gwyn (Pobol y Cwm)

West Midlands – William Gallagher (Doctor Who, Radio Times, The Beiderbecke Affair)

Yorkshire & North East – Lisa Holdsworth (Midsomer Murders, Emmerdale, New Tricks)

WGGB Chair Gail Renard (ChuckleVision, writing and co-producing Monty & Co, author of John Lennon: Give Me A Chance)

WGGB Deputy Co-Chair Richard Pinner (Rosie Blitz, London Theatre Award;The Peace of Pocahontas, Plays on Stage Award; Penny Dreadful; Peddars Way)

WGGB Deputy Co-Chair Tim Stimpson (The Archers, EastEnders, Doctors)

Photo of last year’s AGM: Em Fitzgerald